COVID-19
Ansvar Insurance response to Coronavirus

Dear Valued Partner,

There has been a lot of development on the COVID-19 front since our last communication to you in March.

I would like to update you on the ways Ansvar’s Risk and Insurance businesses are looking to support our brokers, clients and business partners, during this challenging and uncertain time.

Below is an overview of Ansvar’s response to this new environment, including our underwriting, claims and risk management support, as well as the financial assistance we can offer.

Importantly, Ansvar is committed to providing you with personalised, flexible, ethical and compassionate support. We are open for business and only a phone call away – please contact your local State Manager or Regional Underwriting Manager on 1300 650 540.

 

Policy changes as a result of changes in clients’ business circumstances

We understand that our clients are experiencing difficulties at this time and some businesses, unfortunately, will be materially impacted. We encourage you to contact us and provide the updated information. We will review the policy terms and conditions, and where possible, align cover and premium with the new business situation.

For SME clients (clients with annual turnovers and/or asset values of less than $10 million) impacted by COVID-19, and have experienced a reduction in turnover and exposure, we will provide a refund on any unused portion of the premium. Ansvar will not charge any administration or cancellation fees as a result of these changes.

For non-SME clients, we will work with the broker and client on a minimum deposit solution with an adjustment on renewal, based on the actual turnover for the policy period.

 

Unoccupied premises

To ensure our clients are not unduly penalised for temporary closures due to COVID-19, Ansvar will extend cover for all insured unoccupied premises, for a period of up to 180 days. We will not charge an additional premium, or reduce the level of coverage, nor will we impose a higher excess.

This endorsement for extended un-occupancy cover is subject to several conditions pertaining to prudent site risk management (such as, turning off certain utilities, maintaining essential services, disposing of waste and conducting inspection of premises in line with Government directives). Please speak to your local State Manager or Regional Underwriting Manager to obtain this endorsement and discuss any questions that you may have.

 

Financial difficulties and payment of insurance premium

Ansvar understands that many SME clients may be facing financial difficulties during this time. To support our brokers and clients, Ansvar offers a number of payment solutions. We encourage you to contact your local State Manager to discuss your clients’ specific circumstances.

We offer the following flexible financial support and payment options:

  • Instalment payment arrangements – monthly or as agreed between Ansvar and the client. This payment option is available for our SME as well as larger Corporate clients;
  • Option of payment deferral for SME clients impacted by COVID-19;
  • Special considerations in respect of financial hardship requests; and
  • Premium adjustments due to changes in activities or turnover.

Our State Managers have the authority to approve most of these financial support arrangements, with some unique cases referred for review and prompt resolution.

Further, we have established our dedicated Financial Hardship support hotline. To access contact Ansvar on 1300 650 540 (Select Option 2 and then select your State), and speak to your State Manager. Alternatively, please contact Peter Bendeich via email on: remittances@ansvar.com.au.

 

Unable to contact your client

Whether due to illness, self-isolation or the continuing travel restrictions, it may be impossible to obtain your client’s instructions in a timely manner.  To allow for this situation, and to help you to protect your SME clients from becoming unintentionally uninsured, we are introducing an automatic extension in cover for 30 days beyond the renewal anniversary date.

 

Ansvar Enterprise Risk and Risk Engineering support

Over the past several weeks, we have engaged across a broad spectrum of brokers and clients, providing risk advice and business continuity support. Further, our Ansvar Risk team has deployed a number of technology options to continue delivering risk services and support for our brokers and clients.  This includes specialised risk advice during this critical time.

Should you need any support, please contact Anthony Black, ERM and National Care Practice Leader, on 0402 239 149 or ablack@ansvarrisk.com.au or Diana Borgmeyer, Ansvar Risk CEO, on 0413 730 839 or dborgmeyer@ansvarrisk.com.au.

 

Ansvar Claims approach during the COVID-19 period

Our approach to claims is business as usual. We are here to assist you with all current and new claims matters, and will be looking for ways to support our clients with fast cash settlements whenever possible.

 

We continue supporting you, your business and your clients

Should you have any queries regarding your Ansvar policies, risk support or claims, please contact our dedicated telephone number on 1300 650 540.

In addition, contact details of our senior management team in each State is detailed below:

Victoria and Tasmania
Matt Abslom State Manager (VIC & TAS) mabslom@ansvar.com.au 0418 393 381
Alex Mrmacovski Regional Underwriting Manager (VIC & TAS) amrmacovski@ansvar.com.au 0432 116 598

 

Queensland
David Munro Regional Underwriting Manager (QLD) dmunro@ansvar.com.au 0429 408 798
Lisa Rohweder State Manager (QLD) lrohweder@ansvar.com.au 0417 510 193

 

New South Wales and Australian Capital Territory
Peter Oakman State Manager (NSW & ACT) poakman@ansvar.com.au 0411 013 851
Richard Goswell Regional Underwriting Manager (NSW) rgoswell@ansvar.com.au 0438 067 457
Matt Fitzpatrick Business Development Underwriting Manager (ACT) mfitzpatrick@ansvar.com.au 0432 117 492

 

South Australia, Northern Territory and Western Australia
Nick Henley State Manager (SA, NT & WA) nhenley@ansvar.com.au 0437 622 906
Stephanie Myers Regional Underwriting Manager (SA) smyers@ansvar.com.au 0434 062 167
Evaschal Moodley Regional Underwriting Manager (WA) emoodley@ansvar.com.au 0408 975 332

 

National Claims contacts
Matt Fyfe National Property Claims Manager mfyfe@ansvar.com.au 0402 335 229
Christian Muddle National Technical Claims Manager cmuddle@ansvar.com.au 0400 734 914

 

National Escalation contacts
Daniel Churilov National Operations Manager dchurilov@ansvar.com.au 0403 327 448
Ian Ireland General Manager, Client Solutions iireland@ansvar.com.au 0417 079 867

 

Working together
We wish you and your staff the very best through this challenging period, and will keep you updated on any further developments.

Best Wishes and stay safe,

Warren Hutcheon
Chief Executive Officer